The art of writing 

  
Writing has been an interesting adventure so far. The world of writing has felt like quicksand, absorbing me into its nook and crannies. I have always been a keener. Before I started blogging I read up on elements key to a successful blog and even subscribed to a successful blogger for tips and techniques. Bloggers I have met face to face so far giggle at the thought of me furiously researching keys to success in the blogging realm. But I have never seen a point to playing a game if I have no remote idea about to how to win. My philosophy on blogging was the same. Naturally this philosophy extended itself to writing as an art form.

My journey into gathering information on writing began with a TED Talk I heard last month. I was so inspired by it that after I heard the talk for the first time I replayed it immediately so that I could take notes. The elements crucial to a good story that Stanton defines in this talk blew my mind. They sound deceptively simple and yet I have not been able to successfully incorporate then in any piece of fiction I have penned. I am most intrigued by his call to authors to write stories  that create wonder among audience. It’s as if he is asking writers to capture imagination in a bottle. I also found his bit about making the audience care about an artist’s work reassuring. The question “what does my audience care about ” has bothered me since the inception of this blog and I have yet to find the answer. While Stanton raises brilliant questions I wish he would provide some form of dotted lines that I could follow to the treasure he promises in his talk. 

I have also found lessons on writing a good story in random “suggested for you” movies on Netflix. I recently saw a movie called “shadows in the sun”. While I thoroughly enjoyed the scenic beauty and storyline, this movie also taught me a few things about writing. Shadows in the sun  follows an editor as he persuades  a renowned writer to come out of retirement. A scene from the movie that stayed with me was one where the writer is teaching the budding writer (editor) about the importance of experience in order to write a compelling story. He asks the editor to narrate how he would write about the experience of being punched in the stomach. The editor, never having been in a fight before performs poorly. The writer then punches the editor in the stomach to drive the message home that no one could write well about things they have never experienced. This has inspired me to experience more of life and experience it  without judgement and preconceptions in order to grow into a better writer. 

As I continue to learn about writing and creativity, teachers continue to show up serependitously. I  was talking to a marketing professor recently who recommended that I read “An artists way”. I started reading the book today and have experienced changes within my writing process already. This blog post has been easier to write compared to ones I have authored before . I intend to complete all exercises in the book and adopt the morning pages and artist dates practises starting  tomorrow.The morning pages exercise requires students of the book to write 3 pages (word vomit ) every morning in order to better connect with  their creative source. The artists date requires us to go out on a date by our lonesome  in order to experience new things and cultivate a relationship with our creative source. The book presents many insights and if you should decide to read it, please approach its teachings with an open mind.
I am thoroughly enjoying my journey into the world of blogging and  writing.I intend to willingly surrender to the quicksand that is the art of writing. I am sure it will continue taking me down a rabbit hole and into wonderland. If you know of other great resources or tips for people looking to become more creative or better writers please feel free to share. 

Leave a Reply

