Blog worthy

Good morning fellow bloggers /world,

I write this to you as a letter because it is an attempt to communicate more than just ideas, experiences or feelings. This letter is about reaching out for guidance. To understand this blogging obsession that has taken over me. Because I often find myself using “OMG that’s blog worthy!” as a compliment. I think is beginning to be a problem. I’m beginning to sound weird.

If you talk to anyone I know, they will tell you that obsession comes easily to me. While I don’t obsess about everything (stop rolling your eyes angel, I can always see you) when I do get obsessed with something it takes over my life. It becomes a puzzle that I must solve. And unless I do, I can’t stop talking about it, researching the hell out of it and connecting everything in my experience to it as if it must be relevant to the universe.

I even try and grow my tribe. I am ashamed (not really) to say that I’ve forced three wonderful ladies 3 ladies at work to start their own blogs since my obsession took control of me. One of these blogs can be found here.

While it hasn’t even been a whole month since I started blogging (it will be next week though) , the one thing that I have taken away from my exploration of the blogging world is that you must have a passion for what you write about and it must add value to your audience (does that count as two things now?). This stands true for people that have built their life around blogging. It’s obvious when you read their work.

I look up to Phoebe, who authors little grey box, for her passion towards travel and intuitive living. She is not only living my dream life but the journey that got her there is inspiring to me. I also like reading short stories published on writing stories rocks and witty poems/stories on a narcissist writes letters, to himself. The stories entertain me and I admire how these guys are able to deliver a surprise and delight value to their stories with such simplicity. These are just a few of the bloggers that I have come to love.

What they all have in common though is their passion for writing that shines through in every post. They are also authentic and vulnerable to their audience which makes us loyal to them.

Now while in theory I understand these secrets to a successful blog (and connecting to your audience), it is hard for me to bottle it up to use at my convenience.

I have been told that I am able to replicate this passion and vulnerability in some of my writing but haven’t been consistent with it so far. I would really like to be able to inject passion into everything I publish. The question is how to go about doing it.

So these are some of the questions that I would love your help with answering.

1. What has your journey to discovering your passion been like?
2. How do you get past your fears in order to be vulnerable to your audience?
3. Does blogging when you aren’t “inspired to” still produce results that you are proud of? If not, then how do you take up 30 day or 365 day writing challenges?
4. What advice do you have for a novice blogger?
5. Are there any sources of information about the blogging world that you suggest I read up on?

While commenting on this post would be the easiest way to answer these questions you can also reach me on Twitter (@kestral2014).

I would love to hear your thoughts on these questions. I am not sure if they are silly or if I am just too young (to the blogging community) and must figure out the answers to my questions on my own during this journey.

All I know is that blogging gives me real joy and if I do something, I must do it well. While I am on my own personal quest to figure things out, I believe your input would be invaluable to me.

Thank you for your consideration and I hope to hear from you.

Again , thanks for visiting. 🙂

Cheers

6 thoughts on “Blog worthy

  1. Excellent foray into this often misunderstood world of communication.
    I am new, like right now new to this enigma and am looking forward to “meeting” new friends in this format. I’ll give your questions some thought and reply

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think if one is paying attention there are a lot of things in life that are blog worthy. A song, a sermon, a tree, a cup of coffee can all be worthy things to post about. It’s up to us to capture those moments, those things that make life special.

    Like

      1. I think whatever inspires you at the moment is what you should blog about. You cannot blog every single thing because that means your blog owns you instead of the other way around. Be willing to post a few times a day to keep your readers engaged and your blog timely.

        Like

Leave a Reply

